News Kaski: Lamagaon Wins Title Of Open 7-A-Side Championship
Umesh Pun

Lamagaon emerged as the champions in the inaugural Open Seven-A-Side Knockout Football Tournament, organized by Eight to Nine Guys.

The title-clinching moment arrived after Lamagaon secured a dramatic victory against Ramghat in a sudden-death showdown. The thrilling final encounter initially ended in a 1-1 draw, leading to extra time and eventually a tiebreaker. Lamagaon exhibited their mettle by prevailing 3-2 in the sudden-death penalty shootout, securing the coveted championship. Lamagaon's triumphant performance earned them a cash prize of 1 lakh, in addition to the championship title.

Meanwhile, Ramghat, as the valiant runner-up, received a reward of 60,000 along with a trophy, medals, and certificates. Anjan Chhetri of Lamagaon not only clinched the title but also garnered recognition as the Man of the Match and was named the Best Goalkeeper in the final match. Lamagaon's Anuj Bhandari was honored as the Highest Goal Scorer, further solidifying their remarkable achievements.

The Fair Play Award was conferred upon Machhapuchhre Trishakti United, highlighting their sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Additionally, Vishan Gurung of Ramghat was celebrated as the Best Player. Notably, a total of 39 teams enthusiastically participated in the tournament, which was organized to support the medical treatment of Nepal's rugby player, Yashoda Bohora.

The organizers have committed to allocate the proceeds from the tournament toward Yashoda Bohora's treatment, demonstrating a commendable blend of sportsmanship and goodwill.

Post Comments