News AFC Futsal Asian Cup Qualifiers: Nepal Futsal Team To Know Opponents Tomorrow

Asia’s futsal stars will discover their path to the Continent’s biggest futsal prize when the AFC Futsal Asian Cup Kuwait 2022™ Qualifiers virtual draw ceremony is held in Kuala Lumpur on Thursday, January 6 at 3pm (GMT+8).

The road to the Finals will become clear for the qualifiers, who will compete to be among the 16 teams, including hosts Kuwait, at the Continent’s flagship futsal event.With the host nation Kuwait already assured of a place in the tournament, the participating 31 Member Associations (MAs) will be divided into East and West Zones while the Central and South Zones will be combined.

The Qualifiers will be played in centralised venues between April 1 to 15 with the United Arab Emirates hosting the West Zones where teams will contend for five tickets to the Finals while four teams will qualify from the Central and South Zones staged in the Kyrgyz Republic.

The host from the East Zone will be announced soon as teams contend for three tickets to the Finals.

An additional three successful qualifiers from the ASEAN Zone will be determined by results at the AFF Futsal Championship, where a separate draw will be conducted by the ASEAN Football Federation.

The AFC Futsal Asian Cup Kuwait 2022™ Qualifiers draw will see teams split into four pots based on their rankings in the AFC Futsal Championship Chinese Taipei 2018.

In the West Zone, Iraq and Lebanon will be placed in Pot 1 while Bahrain and Saudi Arabia will occupy Pot 2. The United Arab Emirates will be the sole team in Pot 3, and Oman and Palestine will fill Pot 4.

The teams will be divided into one group of four teams and another group of three teams with the winners and runners-up of each group qualifying to the AFC Futsal Asian Cup Kuwait 2022™. A Playoff match will take place between the third placed teams in each group with the winner earning the final ticket in the West Zone.

In the Central and South Zones, 12-time champions Islamic Republic of Iran and four-time runners-up Uzbekistan will be placed in Pot 1. Pot 2 will consist of hosts Kyrgyz Republic and Tajikistan while Turkmenistan and Afghanistan will be drawn from Pot 3, and Nepal & Maldives will complete Pot 4.

The top two teams from the two groups of four teams in the Central and South Zones will qualify to the futsal showpiece.

Japan and Chinese Taipei are the East Zone’s highest ranked teams, occupying Pot 1, with China PR and Korea Republic placed in Pot 2. Hong Kong and Mongolia will be drawn from Pot 3 and Macau occupy Pot 4.

The group winners from the East Zone will join the stellar cast in the Finals while the two runners-up will play in a Playoff match for the final ticket. 

Post Comments