Live News
News » Live News « PREV | NEXT »
Three Star Club Wins RedBull National League; Pockets Rs 1 Crore!
Oct 17, 2015 01:52:48 PM - Three Star Club Wins RedBull National League; Pockets Rs 1 Crore!

Three Star Club defeated 9-man Manang Marshyangdi Club 2-0 to lift the title of RedBull National League at ANFA Complex, Satdobato.


Olawale Afeez and Bijay Dhimal scored apiece for Stars.

Both teams enjoyed better of the first half with their threatening opponents back line but could see no score.

Defending Champions Manang Marsyandi Club made the first notable move in the 11th minute but Ravi Paswan failed to connect Biraj Maharjan's long delivery.

Olawale should have placed the ball into the back net to send the crowd into frenzied celebration but his attempt after picking a free-kick from center zone travelled wide the target in the 18th minute.

Three Star goalie Kiran Chemjong and stand in Skipper pulled off a great save shortly afterwards,  when he excellently denied Rupesh KC's shot diving left and Ravi Paswan's power shot after MMC skipper Anil Gurung missed an initial shot.

Three Star began to add more pressure than Manange in the second half and barely helped a better start taking lead in the 48th minute. Olawale opened the scoring in style just three minutes into the break when he was a beneficiary to head the ball home in a spell of Jagjeet Shrestha's cross from the left flank.

Manange were forced into a save when Three Star's Peter Segun marked his trademark clearing  the close shot off MMC from goalline in the 71st minute.

Stars spurned two golden opportunities later after when Olawale and Bijay optimized to use the chance being two on two and after Nirajan Khadka failed to put on a target in one-vs-one situation.

A 79th minute substitute Bijay Dhimal found a counter ball from Bijay Gurung to shy MMC custodian Dipesh Yadav from inside six yard box to spark wild celebration on the Stars bench on the first injury minute.

The left four minutes of injury got bad to tense the players from both sides. Moussa got marching orders with double yellow at a time while Bijay Dhimal and Sushil KC was sent off for quarreling seconds before the final whistle.

Follow LIVE text commentary here:

Three Star Club First XI:
Segun, Bikram, Bijay, Nirajan, Jagjeet, Peter, Ranjit, Saroj, Olawale, Kiran (GK), Bishnu.

MMC First XI: Anil (C), Biraj, Deepak, Sushil, Stephen, Sissko, Moussa, Bishal, Dipesh (GK), Rupesh, Ravi.

Follow  on and
for the latest in Nepalese Football news, features, and analysis

SMS GOAL to 5001, download GoalNepal Apps or log on to to get football news on your cell phone

Yujal Shrestha
latest news    
Most Viewed    
Blue T-Shirt
Red T-Shirt
Red Scarf
© Copyright 2009-2015 All Rights Reserved.
Further Details:
Start TIme: 0.10694400 1506061528 | End Time: 0.45319700 1506061528 | Execution Time: 0.346253
Start TIme:0.05461200 1506061528 | End Time:0.45697800 1506061528 | Execution Time:0.402366Mem:2.664984