Live News
News » Live News « PREV | NEXT »
RedBull National League: Nepal Army Club Finishes League With Second Position; Defeats Nepal Police Club
Oct 16, 2015 04:29:07 PM - RedBull National League: Nepal Army Club Finishes League With Second Position; Defeats Nepal Police Club
Nepal Army Club has become the runners-up of RedBull National League 2072 as they beat Nepal Police Club Club 3-0  in its last match played at ANFA Complex on Friday.

Tek Bahadur Budathoki, Nawayug Shrestha and Tanka Basnet apiece for Army.

Nepal Army collected 33 points in the league while Nepal Police finished league in the 7th position with 13 points..

The departmental clash of the day was not that entertaining but it was the day for Nepal Army as they secured second position in the ongoing league.

Army men drew the first blood in the 29th minute through Tek Bahadur Budathoki who utilized a pass off Skipper Bharat Khawash.

Three minutes later they could have doubled the lead but Tanka Basnet couldn't his the back of the net from edge of the box after collecting a ball from Nawayug.

The both teams failed to play a constant game and failed to dominate the early proceedings. Cops were worthless and missed their unfit regular players.

Army started the second period brightly and had a real chance to double their tally two minutes into the break but Tanka Basnet showed poor effort from the free state.

Nawayug Shrestha then became a confident booster for Army as he added a second goal against the cops.

Shrestha's goal in the 51st minute not only doubled the tally for Army but also wrote his name in the highest scorer sheet of the league.

Army goalie Bikesh Kuthu pulled off a great save in the 67th minute when he denied Binod Karki from scoring in one-vs-one after Army defender Jitendra Karki made a mistake while clearing the ball.

Tanka Basnet finally shared the party bragging a third goal eight minutes before the final whistle.

Nepal Army will receive Rs 50 Lakhs.

NPC XI: Roshan Khadka(GK), Suman Subedi(C), Suraj BK, Santosh Hemroon, Kapil Dhakal, Dinesh Gurung, Nir Kumar Rai, Ram Chandra Wajee, Ajit Bhandari, Binod Karki, Yogesh Shrestha

Nepal Army XI: Bikesh Kuthu(GK), Jitendra Karki, Youdha Shahi, Hiranya Magar, Dipak Gurung, Santosh Tamang, Raju Tamang, Tek Budathoki, Tanka Basnet, Nawayug Shrestha, Bharat Khawas

Follow text commentary here:

Follow  on and
for the latest in Nepalese Football news, features, and analysis

SMS GOAL to 5001, download GoalNepal Apps or log on to to get football news on your cell phone
latest news    
Most Viewed    
Blue T-Shirt
Red T-Shirt
Red Scarf
© Copyright 2009-2015 All Rights Reserved.
Further Details:
Start TIme: 0.34665800 1505937549 | End Time: 0.64235600 1505937549 | Execution Time: 0.295698
Start TIme:0.30771600 1505937549 | End Time:0.64383700 1505937549 | Execution Time:0.336121Mem:2.650248