Live News
News » Live News « PREV | NEXT »
RedBull Super League: League Champs Manang Marshyangdi Club Beaten By Three Star Club Again!
Mar 1, 2014 05:00:38 PM - RedBull Super League: League Champs Manang Marshyangdi Club Beaten By Three Star Club Again!

League Champions MMC were beaten by Three Star Club again in an exhibition notion final match of the Redbull A Division League held today in the capital.


Stars had beaten MMC 1-0 in the first round league.

Skipper Santosh Shaukhala scored a brace after match referee Laba Khatri felt no hesitation to award  spot kick twice while Anil Gurung scored a consolation for the Champions. The result was meaningless for both  the teams as MMC were already crowned with the title and Stars stood on the third position.

The last match, the booster of A division league between defending champions TSC and and champions MMC got heated from the word go. Both the teams created early pressure on opponents post and defending champions came through a lead in 10th minute. Skipper Santosh Shaukhala scored a goal in a penalty kick awarded as Sulav Maskey fouled on Nirajan Khadka.

MMC leveled the scored in the 32nd minute when Anil Gurung's right footed long ranger from the flank kissed the net. Skipper of Three Star then again provided a lead to TSC in 43rd minute with a spot kick. He made no mistake in the second penalty that was awarded after Bishal Rai fouled on Bikram Limbu.

The MMC shot-stopper then  parried away Santosh driven effort on goal in the 24th minute. MMC created a rare scoring opportunity in the 27th minute when Anil Gurung’s cross from the left-flank found an unmarked Sulav Maskey inside the area who then volleyed his shot wide.
Santosh should have doubled the tally in 13th minute had only his free header followed by Jagajeet cross went through a proper connection. The best in the first half came when MMC goalie Bishal Shrestha made a full stretched diving save to deny Jagajeet Shrestha header off Nirajan Khadka cross moments.

The lacklustre second half was followed by an eventful first half where both teams created numerous scoring chances that went begging. MMC wasted two certain scoring chances inside five minutes after the resumption. Fed by Sujal, Yona ended up giving a pass to TSC goalie Kiran from the box in the 47th minute, while the custodian blocked Shiva Shrestha's powerful strike two minutes later.

TSC were close from doubling the deadlock in the 53rd minute but unmarked Anil Gurung tapped Nirajan's acute cross inches wide at the far post in one-vs-one. Manange were frustrated after Nirajan Malla volley was ruled out for off side in 63rd minute and the latter was denied by Kiran two minutes later.

On the other side, Stars were thankful to their goalkeeper Kiran Chemjong who denied from close range in Shiva Shrestha's cross in 74th minute. Nepal number one goalie Chemjong stood firm to save TSC in various attacks made by MMC.

MMC later had three chances to equalise but their forwards threw it all away. Skipper Sagar Thapa headed Sunil BK's pass wide off the target in the 79th minute while Sandip Rai cleared the latter’s strike  four minutes later. Star's  goalie Kiran made sure they walk away with full three points blocking Nirajan Malla's powerful strike from the close range in 82nd minutes. 

League Leader MMC bagged Rs. 75 lakhs, runner up NMB Machindra earned Rs. 45 lakhs and third positioned TSC satisfied with Rs. 30 lakhs. 

CMG Club Sankata received the fair play award. They received Rs.1 Lakh.

Bishal Shrestha of MMC was adjudged the best goalkeeper, Hem Gurung of Machhindra FC was declared the best defender, Sushil KC from Machhindra FC was announced the best midfielder and Karna Limbu from  Machhindra FC was declared the best forward of the tournament.

Hari Om Shrestha (MMC) was rated the best coach of the tournament.

All best players and the best coach received one Yamaha bike.

Laxmi Hyundai MMC First XI: Sagar Thapa (C), Bishal Shrestha (GK), Aziz Saheed, Bikram Limbu, Sujal Shrestha, Shiva Shrestha, Bishal Rai, Sulav Maskey, Dipak Rai, Yona Elish, Anil Gurung.

Laxmi Bank Three Star First XI:
Kiran Chemjong (GK), Sandip Rai, Anifowose Saheed, Biraj Maharjan, Sabindra Shrestha, Yogesh Gurung, Bikram Lama, Jagajeet Shrestha, Nirajan Khadka, Santosh Shaukhala (C), Anil Gurung.

latest news    
Most Viewed    
Blue T-Shirt
Red T-Shirt
Red Scarf
© Copyright 2009-2015 All Rights Reserved.
Further Details:
Start TIme: 0.55367700 1506306031 | End Time: 0.86108900 1506306031 | Execution Time: 0.307412
Start TIme:0.51239300 1506306031 | End Time:0.86253800 1506306031 | Execution Time:0.350145Mem:2.659688